Finding my calm

The search for my calm space is on.

Most times when I read the news what is happening stuns me:

Daily there are headlines of single women who let their boyfriend brutally abuse and often kill their children with the comment ‘I thought something was wrong’ or refuses to accept any fault in it.

A teenager is coerced into running away with a middle age predator and it’s discovered this is not the first time for the predator.

Watching video of gangs who converge on high end stores to pillage the shelves of thousands of dollars in merchandise with no recourse expected.

Cities that once were gems of desirable locations are being abandoned to the homeless and drug addicted because of the said homeless and drug addicted population.

Young people who want nothing more than to be famous and rich – for being famous and rich.

Professional athletes who display violence toward partners and other humans.

Any wonder that I am avoiding the news. For years I haven’t watched news broadcasts, and now any thing I get is from a 20 minute scan of online news.

My media viewing is limited to movies and documentaries. You will find me watching programs about space, nature, and history. I have some shows I follow that tend to be this focus.

   Oak Island-history, archeology

   Skinwalker Ranch-technology and history

   Expedition programs by Josh Gates-history, technology, travel

   Channels: Science, Discovery, History, National Geographic, Brit Box, YouTube, Magellan, History Hit, Curiosity, NASA TV.

Hubby is the only one in this house that watches networks and that is CBS because he likes CSI, NCSI shows, and we get those on FrndlyTV.

I do like watching college and some professional football. Hubby and I are huge University of Arizona Wildcat fans so those sport teams are streaming or on sports channels.

So my search for peace of mind continues as I read about the love of God, and relishing in the comfort in the love of my family. I protect my mind by not giving the VHS recorder in my brain anything that can be brought up in my thoughts and dreams to push aside the good things. I’m still working on what I need to know and what is worthless information.

Cheers!

-N

 

One thought on “Finding my calm

  1. I am emphatically with you. A comment box is not enough space, but the wisdom that I try to adhere to on “news” is : The news you need to know will find you. I have experienced it. There is just way too much inanity out there and it has NO place in my mind. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.