Standing up

I’ve been looking at all of the media about the election. The mainstream media as well as social media. It is scary how divisive and defensive the comments are, and how aggressive humans can be when they feel wronged. What surprises me is that one side feels since they lost there is something wrong and they feel the process failed them. The people who won feel vindicated and validated, as though an oppressed voice was finally heard. Broad statements lumping vast populations into groups identified generally as stupid or intolerant because of their political positions have polarized humans, even within families. I am sorry if there are people who will never be my friend because of how I voted. I will say this was one of the hardest votes I have ever cast, and yet I was privileged to have the opportunity.

I’m still deciding. “He that is without sin cast the first stone.” John 8:7

Even though Mr. Trump has won, there is no full mandate or complete consensus in this win. It represents an evenly divided voting public, so Mr. Trump needs to see that reconciliation and healing need to be in all his statements and actions. This is no time for recriminations and bragging. Now we need to move forward. As a Christian (Jesus follower) I know God sets these things in place, just as He has in the past. Now comes accountability for what has been given.

Intolerance and racism seem to be the buzzwords now. For an example of the epitome of intolerance look at radical Islam. We need leadership now that will force tolerance on them the way the USA is expected to be tolerant. If you come to this country to live, you are under our laws and constitution. Those are the final and ultimate say in the USA. We are no different in this than in most other countries-especially the ones who are trying to force “tolerance” on us. Radicl Islam is racist, homophobic, misogynistic, and profoundly intolerant and expect to be allowed to continue with this attitude unpunished wherever they go. Bite me!

I’ve been discriminated against because I am white, I’ve endured rude and sexist comments because I am female, I’ve been ridiculed because of my weight, my extensive work experience was marginalized because of my lack of a degree, I’ve also been harassed because of my faith. My first best friend was black and it didn’t matter, my parents had best friends who were mixed race couples, I have a young friend I would be there for should she need it who happens to be black. I’ve seen what people of color have endured. I remember when there were “colored” and “white” bathrooms and drinking fountains but that doesn’t mean I felt privilege because of this. Instead I felt ashamed, and sad that humans would minimize other humans. I was profiled because of the pealing paint of my old but reliable car by the police officer who pulled me over. He was stunned when I produced  a valid drivers license, car registration and proof of insurance since he fully expected me to not have at least one of those. I know what it feels like to live on welfare and food stamps because I was an out of work single parent. I admit I was motivated to get work, so that lasted about a year, but I’ve been there.

“Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life, to mind your own business and work with your hands just as we have shown you, so your daily life will win the respect of outsiders and you will not be dependent on anyone.” 1 Thessalonians 4:11-12

20140804_143730

I’m starting a grass roots movement right here, right now to elect my husband, Chuck Vaughn as the next president.
He is honorable, has integrity, is intelligent, has served in the military, is well respected, and has worked hard his whole life. He raised two amazing and self-sufficient children, and stands up for those who are oppressed.

This is the man who needs to run this country. BOOM!

Cheers!

-N

Leave a Reply

