Thunder alarm clock

It was 5:50 am and I heard what I thought was a truck rumbling by, but that made no sense to me. Millie scratched on the screen door telling me to get my butt up and let her out. Then I heard it again. Was that thunder? Interesting.

Millie went out, and did her thing. I lay back down and started to doze off.

At the screen door scratching around 6:30 I got up to let her back in and realized it was sprinkling. Hallelujah! Rain to start a Tuesday morning. Filled my coffee, grabbed my phone and headed to the back porch to enjoy the rain. Then it really started to rain, a full fledged rain shower. I looked to the north and there was a thick, wide rain shaft with low clouds that appeared to be moving my way.

See me smile and sigh.

Chuck joined me with his coffee and we watched as the storm came near. Then boom! That was close. A few minutes later a brilliant lightning bolt struck very close, like 1/4 mile away with an instant, shocking BOOM! The wind started to pick up testifying the storm was here. The temps dropped fast and we sat enjoying the show as small hail mixed with rain fell.

Abruptly, suddenly, quickly, immediately – pick and adverb – the wind shifted and got stronger, blowing rain and hail straight at us, hail was landing in our laps, tables, chairs and on Millie. We jumped up, gathering our things and hurried inside with Millie leading the way.

It was awesome!

Now, a few hours later it is still over cast with thick clouds, with an occasional sprinkle and the rumble of distant thunder.

What a way to start my morning!

Cheers!

-N