What those amazing followers teach me

I’ve been having a great time watching my follower count go up for my blog, my twitter and my Facebook author page. It is a great feeling to think I might have something to say that will connect with another human. I’ve laughed out loud at the posts on Twitter by the vibrant young people out there. I remember that time in my life where everything was exciting and full of adventure.

I was talking with someone about what happens when humans reach a certain age. That certain age can vary depending on the human and their life experience. She had been very sick, spent hours in the ER and came away with a diagnosis that most likely was stress related. Ok, this person does have a lot of stress in her life, but the first thing I thought was she is younger than me, so check mark the age box. She is younger in years I can’t get back, yet I refuse to be one of those old people who always talk about illnesses, aches and pains, prescriptions and doctor appointments.

Yuck!! Double yuck!!

Most young people don’t go there, they don’t have time for it while they live life to the fullest. Sometimes that living gets them in trouble, but they do as Taylor Swift says “shake it off!!” I want to keep that youthful thought in my head so I can avoid the signs of acting my age.

Let’s keep dancing.

Sally Field said she see’s herself as young, no matter her chronological age. I do that too. In my dreams I am young, skinny and adventurous. Even if I am my current age in dreams my actions betray my self perception as a youthful person. I refuse to cut my hair no matter how many times I’m told long hair on older women ages them, because I like my hair like this. My iTunes playlist has a lot of current music. I enjoy listening to and engaging with the young people I encounter.

I think we all have an age that is our best age. Mine is 35. That age to me is still young, very active, super sexy, effortlessly spontaneous and immensely curious.

Tell me what you see when you look at yourself. Do you look through the eye of your mind or do you count the lines that mark your age number? Please share you comments.

Cheers!

-N

4 thoughts on “What those amazing followers teach me

  1. We just talked about this and I’m with you – young at heart is the only way to go! I too refuse to cut my hair short. I like it this way. That’s what matters. I think 30 was my perfect age. Wouldn’t it be fun to go back, just for a day, and live in that body again?

    Like

    1. Yes, and it seems it is easier to be young at heart now versus when our mother was our age. You were expected to act a certain way to be respectable. Interesting.
      -N

      Like

Leave a Reply

