Nobody’s perfect

With all of the political crap starting up one thing I cannot stand is people commenting on the family of a candidate. I realize the exposure is part of being the spouse, child or other family member of a political figure but it is still disturbing how cruel humans can be. The anonymity of Facebook and Twitter make it easy for an individual to make comments they would never have the guts to say face to face. It is the same mentality that feeds a bully to pick on someone weaker or smaller.

I am not a person to stump for a political party. I have made my personal choices based on what I think the country needs and who comes closest to that position. Their family relationships do have an influence on who they are and what they believe but those people don’t deserve to be ambushed publicly with reproach and ridicule. It has to be hard enough for a spouse or child to hear the nasty, accusatory  and confrontational comments that are made about their loved one.  To be made fun of or demeaned by people who don’t know then – I hate that!

Responding to this stuff can be difficult for me because I get riled and want to verbally retaliate. I am pretty good at being sarcastic and rude but once I let myself do it I immediately regret it. I also regret when I let another’s opinion influence my response. I am not perfect and don’t need to demand everyone think like me. If you want to know what I think then ask, but I’m not going to shove it in your face and ridicule you for thinking differently. I would expect the same from you.

I don’t watch any debates, I mute political TV commercials and hide political postings on my social media. I’ve done my own candidate research since it is easy to look things up online and find out what a person’s platform is and make an educated decision about who I will support and why.  All of the money that is spent on commercials and mailers is obscene and works in favor of rich candidates. The regular person has no chance at making a difference on a national platform. These things don’t change anyone’s mind. Most people vote for the person who espouses ideas that make that person feel good about who they are and how they live.

I’ll be glad when it is over.

-N

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

